Home   /   About CIT

Overview

The College of Information Technology (CIT) is the youngest College at United Arab Emirates University (UAEU). It was established in 2001, and has earned a strong reputation for excellence in research and teaching, graduating over 1,200 students up to 2012. CIT employs an outstanding team of international faculty, all of whom hold doctoral degrees and are recognized internationally for their contributions to research, innovation, and education. There is also a team of Master degree holders providing laboratory support and a dedicated team of administrative and technical staff. CIT is housed in a spectacular 300,000 sq. feet facility, providing innovative, immersive learning technologies and hands on laboratories.

CIT is a world-class, student-centered institution that develops, delivers and continually improves IT programs to maintain international standards. In 2010, CIT was granted accreditation of its IT program by Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of ABET. ABET accreditation provides CIT graduates with several advantages; the main one being the recognition by employers of the quality of CIT’s Information Technology program and the reassurance that it meets standards required elsewhere in the world.

CIT prepares students to enter the IT profession or to pursue advanced graduate studies. The ABET accredited undergraduate program provides a solid foundation in oral and written communication, mathematics, science, computer hardware, computer software, and a focused IT major area. The primary goal of CIT is to graduate students who have completed four years of study that includes practical experience and professional competency in one of seven areas of specialization which include Intelligent Systems, Software Development, Information Security, E-Commerce, Networking, Enterprise System and Computer System Design.

Graduates of CIT are employed in government and industry positions serving the IT needs of the nation and participating in the advancement of information technology in the UAE and beyond. CIT students have won numerous national and regional competitions and have received commendations from leaders of the IT industry worldwide. Many of the students are involved in undergraduate scientific research, and have published articles in some major research conferences and journals.

Mar 17, 2016

نظرة عامة

تعدُّ كلية تقنية المعلومات الكلية الأحدث بجامعة الامارات العربية المتحدة، حيث أنشأت عام 2001، وقد اكتسبت سمعةً عالميةً واسعةً لتميزها في البحث العلمي، والتدريس، حيث تجاوز عدد الخريجين فيها 1200 طالباً وطالبةً حتى عام 2012. تضم كلية تقنية المعلومات نخبة من أعضاء هيئة التدريس من  مختلف أنحاء العالم من حملة الدكتوراه المشهود لهم عالمياً بإسهاماتهم البارزة في مجال البحث العلمي، والابداع، والتعليم؛ إضافةً إلى فريق من حملة الماجستير الذين يقدمون الدعم اللازم للمختبرات العلمية وفريق من الإداريين، والتقنيين المتفانين في عملهم. تمتد كلية تقنية المعلومات على ما يقرب من 300.000 قدم مربع بتقنياتها التعليمية الابتكارية الهائلة ومختبراتها المساندة.

إن كلية تقنية المعلومات هي مؤسسة عالمية المستوى تركز على الطالب وتسعى باستمرار نحو توفير، وتطوير برامج تقنية المعلومات بما يتوافق مع المعايير الدولية، ففي عام 2010 حصلت كلية تقنية المعلومات على الاعتماد الأكاديمي لبرامجها من قبل لجنة اعتماد الحوسبة لـ (ABET)، ويقدم هذا الاعتماد الأكاديمي للطلبة العديد من المزايا أهمها الحصول على اعتراف أصحاب العمل بجودة برامج تقنية المعلومات في الدولة، وضمان تلبيتها للمعايير المطلوبة عالمياً.

تعد الكلية طلبتها للعمل في مجال تقنية المعلومات أو استكمال دراساتهم العليا، وتوفر البرامج الدراسية الجامعية المعتمدة من قبل لجنة اعتماد الحوسبة لـ ABET))، أساساً متينا في مهارات الاتصال الشفوي والكتابي، والرياضيات، والعلوم، وأجهزة تطوير الحاسب الآلي وبرمجته، مع التركيز على المجالات الأساسية في تقنية المعلومات. إن الهدف الأساسي لكلية تقنية المعلومات هو أن تخرج الطلبة بعد استكمال أربع سنوات دراسية تتضمن تزويدهم بالخبرات العملية، وبالكفاءة المهنية في أحد المجالات السبعة بتخصصات تشمل كل من: نظم المعلومات الذكية، وتطوير البرامج، وأمن المعلومات، والتجارة الالكترونية، والشبكات، ونظم المؤسسات، وتصميم نظم الحاسب الآلي.

يشغل خريجو كلية تقنية المعلومات العديد من الوظائف في مواقع حكومية وخاصة، حيث يعملون على خدمة قطاع تقنية المعلومات ويشاركون في تطوير هذا المجال محلياً وعالمياً، كما فاز طلبة كلية تقنية المعلومات في العديد من المسابقات على المستوين المحلي والاقليمي وحصلوا على شهادات تقديرية من قادة التكنولوجيا في العالم. ويشارك العديد من الطلبة في الأبحاث العلمية إضافة إلى نشرهم للعديد من المقالات في أهم المؤتمرات البحثية والدوريات العلمية.

Aug 16, 2017